Australian paddlers ready to take on the 2022 ICF Canoe Marathon World Championships


A team of 21 athletes have been nominated to the 2022 Australian Canoe Marathon Team and will represent Australia in the Open, Junior and U23 categories at the 2022 ICF Canoe Marathon World Championships in Ponte Lima, Portugal, from September 29 to October 2, 2022.

Paddle Australia has also selected 20 athletes in the Masters category.

The strong team of men and women in the senior, under-23 and junior categories includes a number of paddlers with substantial racing experience at world championship level, including national champion Josh Kippin.

Kippin won the shortest Open K1 event of 3.4km and the longest K1 event of 29.6km at the 2022 Paddle Australia Canoe Marathon Championships on the Gold Coast, also standing on the podium with Brendan Rice in the 29.6 km men’s K2 event.

Ponte Lima 2022 will be Kippin’s sixth team at the World Championships, his last being in Shaoxing, China in 2019, where he placed 6th in the K1 3.6km short course, 16th in the K2 marathon 29, 7 km and 13th in the K2 marathon.

Josh Kippin at the 2022 PA Canoe Marathon Championships

Like many others, Australia did not send a marathon team to the last World Championships in Bascov (Romania) last October, due to the ongoing challenge of the COVID-19 pandemic and the uncertainty surrounding international travel at the time.

Kippin said it’s always an honor to be selected for a national team and he learns more from every opportunity in the green and gold.

“I am delighted to make another national team for the marathon and to represent Australia after a few years of no international competition,” said Kippin.

“I always feel like I learn a lot every time I go to Worlds and as a result I manage to put together better performances.

“My main goals for this year’s World Championships are to be in the top 10 in the three races K1 short course, K1 marathon and K2 marathon.”

The team also includes the likes of Tokyo 2020 Canoe Sprint Olympian Jaime Roberts, who competes in the K1 Women’s Short Course and the K2 Standard Course alongside 2021 Paddler of the Year Jane Pankhurst.

2019 World Championships representative Hannah Scott, 22, has been selected for another national team, having recently won the women’s K2 open event at the 2022 Nationals, paired with Rebecca Mann.

“I’m very grateful to have been able to get here,” said Scott, who was sidelined with a shoulder injury last year. “To be back and fit enough to be selected is something I didn’t think was possible.”

Hannah Scott's cheer squad at the 2022 Australian Canoe Marathon Championships

Scott will compete in the Under-23 Women’s K1 Marathon and Women’s K2 Open, while serving as the first reserve for the Women’s K1 Open Short Course.

She said she was looking to make the most of her final two seasons in the youth category while gaining valuable experience against top international competition and improving on her results from 2019, where she placed 13th in K1. female U23 and 9th. in the Women’s K2, paddling alongside current partner Rebecca Mann.

“The goal for my U23 singles is to try to be as competitive as possible, hoping to rank higher than last time in China,” Scott said.

“I just want to go out there and run as hard as me and my doubles partner Bec Mann can, to get a lot of experience with the Women’s Open and try to make Australia proud,” she said. declared.

Selections were made in accordance with the PA Selection Policy – Click here

Of short time
Open Men K1

Josh Kippin (Western Australia)

Casey Haynes (New South Wales)

Reserve 1 – Brendan Rice (Western Australia)1

Open Women K1

Jaime Roberts (Western Australia)

Rebecca MannVictoria

Reserve 1 – Hannah Scott (Victoria)2

Reserve 2 – Rachel of Kretser (Victoria)2

Open Women C1

Em Harrison (Victoria)

standard course
Open Men K1

Josh Kippin (Western Australia)

Casey Haynes (New South Wales)

Open Women K1

Rebecca MannVictoria

Kate LeverettVictoria

Under 23 Men K1

Luke Dooley (Western Australia)

Daniel Mole (Queensland)

Under 23 Women K1

Rachel de Kretser (Victoria)

Hannah ScottVictoria

Under 18 Men K1

Noah Boldy (Western Australia)

Under 18 Women K1

Jasmine Rayward (Queensland)

Genevieve Stanley (Western Australia)

Under 18 Men C1

Jordan Jenkin (South Australia)

Open Men K2

Brendan Rice / Josh Kippin (Western Australia)

Casey Haynes / James Pralija (New South Wales)

Open Women K2

Hannah Scott / Rebecca Mann (Victoria)

Jaime Roberts / Jane Pankhurst (Western Australia)

Under 18 Men K2

Noah Boldy / Morgan Boldy (Western Australia)

Under 18 Women K2

Genevieve Stanley / Sarah Major (Western Australia)

Masters Men

  1. Armand le Roux – M55 K1 (Queensland)
  2. Brett Greenwood – M50 K1, M50 K2 (New South Wales)
  3. Darren Lee – M55 K1, X 35-59 K2 (New South Wales)
  4. Dominic Scarfe – M55 K2 (Victoria)
  5. Geoff Horsnell – M70 K1 (New South Wales)
  6. Ian Cooper – X 35-59 K2 (New South Wales)
  7. Jason Ware – M50 K1, M50 K2 (New South Wales)
  8. John Young – M60 K1, M55 K2 (Victoria)
  9. Paul Kristian – M45 K1, M45 K2 (Victoria)
  10. Stuart Bryson – M55 K1, X 35-59 K2 (Queensland)
  11. Marc Brehin – M60 K1, X 35-59 K2 (South Australia)
  12. Jeff Hosnell – M70 K1 (New South Wales)

Masters Women

  1. Ann Lloyd Green – W 70K1 (New South Wales
  2. Cathy Venning – W45 K1, X 35-59 K2 (South Australia)
  3. Daniela Torre – W50 K1, X 35-59 K2 (New South Wales)
  4. Fiona Rae – W55 K1, W55 K2 (New South Wales)
  5. Liz Pratt – X35-59 K2 (New South Wales)
  6. Laura Lee – W40 K1 (New South Wales)
  7. Pauline Findlay – W60 K1, W55 K2 (New South Wales)
  8. Sue McDougall – W50 K1, W50 K2 (Western Australia)

Comments are closed.