Paddle Australia announces six new Technical Discipline Committees and two Technical Discipline Officers ahead of National Paddle Forum


Paddle Australia (PA) is pleased to announce the composition of the newly formed Discipline Technical Committees (DTCs) ahead of the National Paddle Forum to be held on the Gold Coast on 6-7 May 2022.

Following an extensive review of the Terms of Reference, new DTCs have been established for the disciplines of Canoe Sprint, Canoe Slalom, Canoe Whitewater, Canoe Ocean Race, Canoe Marathon and Canoe polo, while the discipline of acrobatic canoe and stand-up paddle (SUP) will each be represented by a technical manager.

The six DTCs and technical officers will provide advice, guidance and support to the PA in the development and promotion of each discipline, assisting in the administration and management of national level competitions.

Members of the new DTCs have been offered different terms (either 2 years or 4 years) as part of a transition period which will allow Paddle Australia to renew the composition of up to 50% of each DTC every two years. years, even years. Once the transition is complete, all DTC members will be offered 4-year terms. The intention is to provide a balance between continuity and renewal.

A key change to the makeup of each Paddle Australia DTC is the inclusion of an Athlete Representative, who will act as a conduit for the athletes’ most important issues and enable them to participate in committee and organizational activities in his outfit. .

The introduction of athlete representatives on the committees will also give Paddle Australia the opportunity to gather additional athlete feedback on important topics from the united paddling community across all disciplines, adding to the resources already available within of the Athletes’ Commission, where athletes from the Olympic and Paralympic disciplines are already represented.

The Chairs of each of the DTCs (or their designate) and Technical Leads will also sit on Paddle Australia’s Competition Committee, the ‘Board Committee’ established to discuss and make recommendations on all matters relating to the development, planning and coordinating competitions. the paddle and other specific problems.

The appointed members of the six DTCs and the two Technical Leads for Freestyle and SUP are:

Canoe Sprint Technical Committee

  • Ian Hume (Chairman)
  • Lisa Russ (athlete representative)
  • Laura White
  • Mark Bulmer
  • Alex Boyd
  • Scott Cunningham

Canoe Slalom Technical Committee

  • Brian Cork (Chair)
  • Georgia Rankin (athlete representative)
  • Kate Vyvyan
  • Pierre Echardt
  • Sue Natoli
  • Rachel Crosbee
  • Robin Jeffrey

Whitewater Canoe Technical Committee

  • Karen Janiszewski (Chair)
  • Chris Greed (athlete representative)
  • Kris Smith
  • Morgen Masuka
  • Matthew French
  • Chris Warton
  • Lyn Stremeki
  • Tony Missson

Offshore Canoe Racing Technical Committee

  • James Tomkins (Chairman)
  • Mackenzie Hynard (athlete representative)
  • Steve Dalton
  • Quona Ross Atkinson
  • Robert Jenkinson
  • Anthony Deague
  • Stewart Collingwood
  • Roz Barbier
  • Jaime Roberts

Canoe Polo Technical Committee

  • John Moore (Chairman)
  • Laura Kleinrahm, (athlete representative)
  • Robert Watson
  • DJ Dubose
  • Matt Moore
  • Don Steel
  • Anthea Courtney
  • Mathilde Mileska

Canoe Marathon Technical Committee

  • Jerry Dunn (Chairman)
  • Naomi Johnson, (athlete representative)
  • John Young
  • Doug Hodson
  • Bob Turner

Acrobatic canoe technical manager

Stand Up Paddle technical manager

Paddle Australia would also like to thank the outgoing Technical Disciplinary Committees for their service to the sport, many over a long period of time.

Canoe Sprint – outgoing members

Greg Kaeding

Dasha Kopecek

Jim Murphy

Andrea Wood

Canoe Polo – outgoing members

Gareth Jones

Donald Leigh

Canoe Wildwater – outgoing members

Jill Bassette

Canoe Slalom – outgoing members

Chris Thompson

Russell Bassett

Chris O’Callaghan

Canoe Ocean Racing – outgoing members

Mike Mills-Thoms

Julie Jenkinson

Canoe Freestyle – outgoing members

Jez Blanchard

Eileen Callaghan

Gary Finley

Joshua Singleton

Canoe Marathon – outgoing members

Margi Bohm

Marc Brehin


Comments are closed.