The winning artists of “Take Flight” will be announced on June 24 | Entertainment


OSCODA – The Oscoda Township Art and Placemaking Subcommittee will announce the winners of its “Take Flight” Artist Competition at Huron Shores Artisan Hall on June 24 from 6-8 p.m., the day before the opening of Art on the Beach 2022 at Oscoda Township Beach Park.

Twenty-one works have been selected to be displayed on pedestals to be installed on the Oscoda Art Walk prior to the reception.

Judging of the 47 entries was done by Emmy-nominated Michigan artist Heiner Hertling. First, second and third place, two honorable mentions and 16 Merit Award winners will be recognized at the reception.

First place winner is sponsored by Wolverine Credit Union, second place by Imse Ockey Sunrise Realty of Oscoda and third place by To the Moon and Back.

Honorable mention winners are sponsored by Tait’s Bill of Fare and The E (aka the Edelweiss). The Merit Awards are sponsored by the Trayers family in honor of Terry Tate, Karen Tate and Maryann Bartels; Nancy Howse in honor of Jim Howse; Nancy Howse in honor of Paul and Marian Grnya, June Wygant in honor of Molly and David Wygant; Sharon Ostrander in honor of Sandy Shelton; Vicki Hopcroft in honor of Bill Hopcroft; and Natalie Hopcroft in honor of Marion Hopcroft.

Huron Shores Artisan Hall will display the originals of the works from June 25 to August 22, many of which will be for sale. The room is open on Sunday from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. and on Monday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Art and Placemaking Committee is a subcommittee of Oscoda’s Economic Improvement Committee and consists of Chairman Lain MacKenzie of To the Moon and Back and Anchorage Retreat Center, Sharon Ostrander of Truly Yours and the Shelton Fund for the Arts, Heather Tait of Tait’s Bill of Fare and the AuSable River Canoe Marathon, Nancy Howse of Oscoda Rotary, Vicki Hopcroft of Hopcroft Law PLC and Aviko Fine Art, and Todd Dickerson, Oscoda’s Director of Economic Improvement.


Comments are closed.