Tough choices for Hawke’s Bay’s supreme sports award as finalist announced


Emma Twigg, Olympic gold medalist in the women’s single scull, is in the running for Sportswoman of the Year in Hawke’s Bay. Photo / Photo port

Judges face tough decisions to determine the winners or winners of Hawke’s Bay’s Best Sports Award from a range of finalists announced by Sports Hawke’s Bay.

The Supreme Sports Award, extended from one year to 18 months due to the uncertainties of the Covid-19 era – which has also seen the cancellation of many local, national and international events – is among the top contenders in at at least three of the categories: Senior Sportsman of the Year, Team of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Among the finalists for Sports Personality of the Year are Commonwealth Games stars Emma Twigg and Tom Mackintosh.

Top teams include 2021 winner Hawke’s Bay Magpies Ranfurly Shield Rugby Team and Minor Cricket Associations Hawke Cup Holders Hawke’s Bay Men’s Cricket Team while coaches of two teams are in the running for the honor of coach of the year.

Hockey player Olivia Shannon was named Hawke's Bay Junior Sportswoman of the Year in 2019. She is now a finalist in the senior category.  Photo/NZME
Hockey player Olivia Shannon was named Hawke’s Bay Junior Sportswoman of the Year in 2019. She is now a finalist in the senior category. Photo/NZME

Among the other senior sportsman of the year finalists is Olivia Shannon, hockey representative for Black Sticks New Zealand, winner of the Hawke’s Bay award for junior sportsman of the year in 2019.

Over 90 nominations were submitted to a jury to decide the finalists and the winners will be announced at the annual awards dinner on October 29 at the Pettigrew Green Arena, Taradale.

There are 13 categories in the Forsyth Barr Hawke’s Bay Sports Awards, and of the 84 nominations, 56 are finalists. The numbers and the fanfare are a far cry from the single-category Hawke’s Bay Sportsman of the Year award, first presented in 1966.

The finalists are: Volunteer of the Year: John Rhodes (Triathlon and Parkrun); Robin Dodd (Various); Wim Barendsen (canoe polo).

Stirling Sports Sports Organization of the Year: Hawke’s Bay Gisborne Athletics; Canoe Polo Hawke’s Bay; Hawke’s Bay Blades (fencing); Hawke’s Bay Hockey Association; Hawke’s Bay Rugby Union.

Three Wise Birds Community Initiative of the Year: Central Hawke’s Bay (Waka Takaro); Fairhaven School (I deserve a chance); Hastings District Council (play through Hastings); Hawke’s Bay Fijian Sports Club; Hawke’s Bay Triathlon (triathlon).

Brebner Print Official of the Year: Dan Waenga (rugby union referee); Jed Graham (canoe polo referee); Nick Hogan (rugby union referee).

Petane Coach of the Year: Christie van Dyk (cricket); Mark Ozich and Josh Syms (rugby union); Richard Potts (athletics).

Zeelandt Grassroots Club of the Year: Bridge Pa Sports Club (rugby, netball, touch rugby); Hawke’s Bay Indoor Cricket Club (cricket); Napier City Rovers (soccer); Porangahau Sports Club (rugby, netball); Hawke’s Bay Triathlon (triathlon).

Ngati Kahungunu Iwi Inc Activation of Te Matau in Maui: Aventure Wairoa (mountain biking, multisport, kayak); Hawke’s Bay Lead Basketball Kahungunu Poitūkohu Academy (poitūkohu); Ihaka Waerea (development programs for girls); Jorian Tangaere, Raiha Huata, Whetumarama Paenga (netball, rugby, basketball).

Kennedy Park Resort Napier Master Sportsman of the Year: Still to be determined.
Glenn Cook Technologies Lifetime contribution to sport: Donald (Doc) McDonald (rowing); Ross Holden (broadcast).

Rachael Knight Emerging Athlete: Damien Da Silva (kayak sprint); Daniel Brown (kayak sprint); Eva Goodisson (triathlon); Hannah Hunt (canoe polo); Karsen Vesty (athletics); Madeline Parker (rowing); Meaghan Broad (canoe polo); Oscar Mason (soccer); Parris Petera (netball); Rylan Noome (athletics).

EIT Junior Team of the Year: Athletics Hawke’s Bay Gisborne Men U18 4x100m relay; Hawke’s Bay Women’s Hockey U18; novice girls from the Hawke’s Bay Rowing Club; Havelock North High School Senior A Girls Canoe Polo; Napier Boys’ High School 1st Rugby XV.

Tremains Senior Team of the Year: Hawke’s Bay Indoor Cricket Club Premier Men; Hawke’s Bay Magpies (rugby); Hawke’s Bay senior men (cricket); James Brott and Oscar Ruston (rowing).

Disabled Sports Paladin of the Year: Guy Harrison (swimming, golf); Lance Dustow (swimming).

Mediaworks Senior Sportsman of the Year: Aimee Fisher (Kayak Racing); Emma Twigg (rowing); Kaitlin Cotter (hockey); Olivia Shannon (hockey); Sean Findlay (hockey); Tom Mackintosh (rowing).


Comments are closed.